Faqs on Polity of Uttar Pradesh

What type of government does Uttar Pradesh have?

Uttar Pradesh has a parliamentary system of government, similar to the national government of India. It follows the principles of representative democracy.

Is the legislature of Uttar Pradesh bicameral or unicameral?

Uttar Pradesh has a bicameral legislature, consisting of two houses:

  • Vidhan Sabha (Legislative Assembly): The lower house, with 403 elected members.
  • Vidhan Parishad (Legislative Council): The upper house, with 100 members.

Who is the head of the executive branch in Uttar Pradesh?

The Governor is the constitutional head of the state, appointed by the President of India. The current Governor of Uttar Pradesh is Anandiben Patel.

Who is the real executive head of Uttar Pradesh?

The Chief Minister is the real executive head of the state, leading the Council of Ministers and responsible for the day-to-day administration.

 Who is the current Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh?

Yogi Adityanath is the current Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.

 What are the functions of the Vidhan Sabha and Vidhan Parishad?

The Vidhan Sabha is the primary law-making body. The Vidhan Parishad has a limited role in the legislative process and can only delay bills, not reject them.

 How are the members of the Vidhan Sabha elected?

Members of the Vidhan Sabha are directly elected by the people of Uttar Pradesh through general elections.

 How are the members of the Vidhan Parishad elected?

Members of the Vidhan Parishad are indirectly elected by various groups like local bodies, teachers, graduates, and nominated by the Governor.

 What is the highest court in Uttar Pradesh?

The Allahabad High Court is the highest judicial authority in Uttar Pradesh. It has its principal seat in Prayagraj (Allahabad) and a bench in Lucknow.

 What are the different tiers of local government in Uttar Pradesh?

Uttar Pradesh has a three-tier system of local government:

  • Gram Panchayats: At the village level
  • Kshetra Panchayats/Block Samitis: At the block level
  • Zila Panchayats: At the district level